Inline FabricationGraf & SonsTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
StainLess Steel MediaADvertise hereMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision

Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 6000 USD, Received: 4840 USD (81%)
We have reached our goal! Thanks to all who donated! I will be updating the donation bar in the next few days!
Our Annual server fund drive is going on now! This donation drive helps fund Cast Boolits for an entire year, and helps support our 2nd amendment rights! You can donate by Paypal by clicking the DONATE button. Or by Cash / Check / MO to the address below:

Willy Snyder
PO Box 2732
Pocatello, ID 83206
****Due to overwhelming e-mails, I will be very slow in updating this list. Please bear with me!****


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Phone question.......again

  1. #1
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    2,754

    Phone question.......again

    So I got all the phones, except one, working again.
    I think that one was the problem.
    But I'm trying to figure out what is wrong with that one phone line.
    What's happening, is that if I connect it, and call the house, it will ring one time and ring continuously.
    Nothing happens on the caller side. Ring one time, and nothing.
    I tested the phone by plugging it into a working plug.
    I replaced the line from the main box to the wall plug. About five feet long.
    Narrowed it down to the wall plug box. i think.
    It's a new box. Old one had corrosion on the terminals.
    Question...........
    Old box had six wire connectors, on the female plug side.
    New one had only four.
    Could this make a difference???

  2. #2
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tom, VA
    Posts
    4,297
    Mice caused my phoneline problems.

  3. #3
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Putnam County, NY
    Posts
    357
    You should only need 2 wires tip and ring. What I would do is plug the phone into the jack and find the 2 wire como that gets you dial tone. Then you only need to figure out the polarity. I have all the equipment to test including a head set.

  4. #4
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    664
    As nyfirefighter357 said, except strike the word should.

    Since you don’t have a test set, cut the RD-11 plug off an old patch cord, strip the wires, plug it into the phone and use the stripped wires to see what connectors give you dial tone. From those wire straight through to the new box and test again.

    Your current problem sounds like you’re shorted to ground in one box related to this connection, could be at either end, or could be that you mixed up a couple of the white/xxx wires.

    I haven’t wired a residential box in 20 years, thankfully!

  5. #5
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    2,754
    I thought I got them working.
    They worked yesterday.
    Had to disconnect half the phones.
    May just look for someone to redo all the lines.

  6. #6
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    664
    Probably cost less to buy a multi-extension cordless phone setup.

    The problem is most likely in the terminations and not with the wires, although I’ve certainly seen wires pulled apart and penetrated by nails or staples plenty of times.

  7. #7
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    northeastern washington
    Posts
    229
    Just a few suggestion to do. to avoid service fees if its your side.
    1 unplug all phones and any thing online with system
    2 find one phone that works, then check it in all jacks
    3 if a jack does not work, found cause
    4 if jack ok check all phones one at a time to find if one is bad
    5 add up total ring value of all phones, computer, answer machine and any thing else like security dialer and ems dialers. the phone company has a total max ring value and if you are over it there system will do many things to attempt a correction including full disconnect.
    Hope you find your problem with lowest cost.
    Shaune509

  8. #8
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    2,754
    I've had all the phones working before.
    In fact I remover two phones long before this problem started.
    I have a feeling it's the line to the half that is not working.
    It's a speaker wire, not phone line.
    I'll try the remove all phones test and see if I can find if it's one phone or the speaker wire.
    I've had cordless phones in the past. Don't like them.
    Once when I got a new cordless phone, I turned it on, without plugging in the base, and heard my neighbor's daughter talking to her friend.
    When that one died, I've never gotten another cordless.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check