RepackboxSnyders JerkyTitan ReloadingWideners
Inline FabricationRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters Supply Load Data

Thread: Fermented pickles

Fermented pickles

Does anybody here make fermented dill pickles? My wife likes them (store bought), and I'm making a batch for her using the UMN Extension recipe. I've never done it before, and I'm nervous about the process. However, at week two it appears to be going as expected, and they smell good.

https://extension.umn.edu/preserving...mented-pickles

Moderator Emeritus

Good starter recipe, since this is a learning process don't modify it. Once you have the process down you can start experimenting with adding other spices/veg(onion and garlic are good).

Boolit Master

I've done it- last year and the year before.. It worked. I added red pepper flakes, dill, garlic, mustard seed. I used the long cucumbers that you buy at the store and took the time to pick the firmest ones. Grew my own last rear and they weren't as good as the store bought, they were soft when pickled. Just remember, these are " alive" and will continue to ferment slowly even in the fridge so the shelf life isn't as long as vinegar pickled pickles. They are very good for you, loaded with probiotics that aren't in vinegar pickles.

Boolit Master

My wife and I have been making a fermented lime pickle for years, old family recipe. They are really good, a little sweet for me but on a burger or in bologna salad they are top notch.

Boolit Grand Master

Thanks Tatume ,
    My aunt made fermented pickles on her back porch in Texas, I've often thought of trying but didn't have a good recipe. I once grew more cumbers than I knew what to do with , my pickles didn't turn out worth a hoot. If yours turn out OK , I might give fermented pickles a try. I have the recipe all printed out. My problem might be finding a place between 70 and 75 degrees to ferment them....inside my house is the only place that stays that cool !