PBcastcoMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
RepackboxLoad DataLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Wideners Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to casting - I want hard bullets with Wheel weights for 2000 fps loads

Boolit Mold

New to casting - I want hard bullets with Wheel weights for 2000 fps loads

Hello and greetings from New Zealand.

I was advised to come here to learn about bullet casting.

My needs are specific and I want to keep it simple.

While I have been shooting centre fire rifles for 25+ years and reloading for as long, I am just starting casting.

I have just bought a 470 NE double rifle and want to shoot 400 gr cast bullets as practice loads - 2000 fps regulated for same POI as full powered 500 gr loads.

I have just melted wheel weights on a pot and poured out ingots in muffin trays and a mould. Total about 11.3 kg = about 25 lbs.

I am going to this tomorrow. I have a Lee bottom pour pot & an industrial thermometer.

I will keep the pot at around 600 F

Prep the Lee mold. Add 2 oz 50/50 solder for 5 lbs lead. Is this correct for a good mould fill or will the bullets be too soft?

Should I quench the bullets in water?

Should I heat treat the bullets in an oven?

I do not want to make it too complicated and spend money on it. I am not going to make huge numbers. I will not be casting for any other caliber. I do not shoot pistols.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks

Banned
    You will want to take the pot temperature up to 700 -720°F

Water quenching wheel weights will get your BHN over 20. Are you sure you need to go that hard?

You didn't mention gas checks, sizing the boolits or what type of lubrication your using on the boolits

BTW, welcome to CB. If you decided to start casting to save money, forget it. You won't, you'll just shoot more.
    Casting boolits (lead bullets) properly is a science, once you know the basics, not a hard science.