Inline FabricationWidenersLee PrecisionLoad Data
Reloading EverythingRepackboxTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
RotoMetals2

Thread: Trouble with tang sight

Boolit Master

Trouble with tang sight

I bought a Lyman no 2 (Win 92 and 94 model) tang sight for a Rossi 92 (octagon barrel). It's pre-drilled at the factory for tang sights. I have read numerous posts where people say it fit their gun just fine. Mine doesn't. It seems like the holes are slightly too close together on the sight for them to properly line up with the holes on the receiver. They are really close, but not close enough. It doesn't seem to perfectly match the contour of the tang either.

So what's going on? Did Lyman change their sight, did Rossi fudge up their holes, or am I doing something wrong?

I have no experience with Rossi guns but have Lyman tangs on 3 rifles. 53Win, 94 Win and a
    100 yr old Marlin 1894 32/20. Perfect fits. I would tend to think it Rossi problem. Have a lot of
    Lyman sights of both newer and old production. I like the older ones better but have no fit or
    Function problems with them.

Boolit Master
    You will have to file both holes just a little.This is much better than filing one hole,and the countersinks should still fit ok.....if not,then reduce the dia of the screw heads a little.......if nothing better,chuck the screw in a small drill,and spin against an abrasive with a hard surface,not a piece of sandpaper held in the fingers......Fit twice,cut once.

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by john.k View Post
    You will have to file both holes just a little.This is much better than filing one hole,and the countersinks should still fit ok.....if not,then reduce the dia of the screw heads a little.......if nothing better,chuck the screw in a small drill,and spin against an abrasive with a hard surface,not a piece of sandpaper held in the fingers......Fit twice,cut once.
    yes to John k

Boolit Master