Graf & SonsWidenersRepackboxRotoMetals2
StainLess Steel MediaInline Fabrication

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Computer problem...help if you can, please

  1. #1
    Boolit Master opos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,004

    Computer problem...help if you can, please

    I have a desk top with Windows 7, running Firefox...it has always done what I wanted but something has gone awry recently. I have loaded the software packages for my various cameras, phones, etc...I have a windows folder for pictures for example...Ive always been able to connect my camera to the desktop and have it begin the download to that folder....now nothing downloads....I also can't get any file to load from my dvd drive so cant load any software or drivers for any new items...the computer configration doesn't show any disc dvd drives in the equipment...I figured the dr ive had died but that would not explain w hy my pictures from phone or camera won't load...

    Borrowed a USB drive with it's own driver or software and when it tries to load the software it gives an error message and won't load it.

    Anything fairly simple I can try to see what might be going on or is it time for a trip to the "fix it feller?"

    T hanks.

  2. #2
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kaneohe, HI
    Posts
    3,093
    I'm not sure, but were there any updates that were recently loaded????
    MS are forcing everyone to change to Win 10.
    An up date may have made changes that Win 7 is not happy with.
    I go here for my computer help.
    Some of them get a little testy with simple questions, but they do help you.
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/index.php?

  3. #3
    Boolit Master

    Omega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    924
    Quote Originally Posted by opos View Post
    I have a desk top with Windows 7, running Firefox...it has always done what I wanted but something has gone awry recently. I have loaded the software packages for my various cameras, phones, etc...I have a windows folder for pictures for example...Ive always been able to connect my camera to the desktop and have it begin the download to that folder....now nothing downloads....I also can't get any file to load from my dvd drive so cant load any software or drivers for any new items...the computer configration doesn't show any disc dvd drives in the equipment...I figured the dr ive had died but that would not explain w hy my pictures from phone or camera won't load...

    Borrowed a USB drive with it's own driver or software and when it tries to load the software it gives an error message and won't load it.

    Anything fairly simple I can try to see what might be going on or is it time for a trip to the "fix it feller?"

    T hanks.
    I'd try using the rollback feature, to a day that you know it worked. It may or may not fix it, but it will be a start. If it does fix it, incrementally load the program/drivers you loaded after that day, noting if it works after each update. So at least then you may know what broke it.
    "Freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it."
    ~Pericles~

  4. #4
    Boolit Master
    Traffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Central Wisconisn
    Posts
    1,534
    Don't panic I will get you through this:
    Some things to check first. Do you know how to go into the device manager to check that? If no let me know, If so check for any issues in there.
    After that we can probably resolve this better in the Personal Messenger.
    AKA hans.pcguy

  5. #5
    Boolit Master RogerDat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Michigan Lansing Area
    Posts
    4,478
    One thing you said caught my attention. Camera begins to download to that folder when plugged in. Normally you would be presented with a box having a few choices. E.g open folder to view files, import photos, view as slide show or whatever. Your windows was configured to always "do this" or you had software that was set up to run and it always imported to that same folder.

    This makes me think configuration of Windows changed, or some software was installed or updated and that changed behaviors. The suggestion to do a roll back to a restore point back to a date/time when things worked is a good place to start. Here is a basic link on doing that https://www.groovypost.com/howto/mic...restore-point/
    Je suis Charlie
    Scrap.... because all the really pithy and emphatic four letter words were taken and we had to describe this way of getting casting material somehow.
    Feedback page http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...light=RogerDat I do trade a bit from time to time.

  6. #6
    Boolit Master
    FISH4BUGS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Inland from Seacoast New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,868
    I know it sounds stupid, but reboot. That fixes well over half the issues in this world.
    Collector and shooter of guns with selector switches and threaded barrels. Collector of suppressors, SBR's, AOW's and SBS's. Lead and brass scrounger. Never too much brass, lead or components in inventory! Always looking to win beauty contests with my reloads.

  7. #7
    Boolit Buddy


    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Princeton, PA
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Traffer View Post
    Don't panic I will get you through this:
    Some things to check first. Do you know how to go into the device manager to check that? If no let me know, If so check for any issues in there.
    After that we can probably resolve this better in the Personal Messenger.
    Id try working with this guy, seems confident and asked the same question i would have to start. Good luck!

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Dignified? I signed up for brave and courageous, not dignified!

  8. #8
    Boolit Master opos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Traffer View Post
    Don't panic I will get you through this:
    Some things to check first. Do you know how to go into the device manager to check that? If no let me know, If so check for any issues in there.
    After that we can probably resolve this better in the Personal Messenger.

    Don't know about device manager...complete nube.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check