MidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Wideners
Load DataInline FabricationTitan ReloadingRepackbox
Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Restoring an old Saeco bottom pour lead furnace

Boolit Bub

Restoring an old Saeco bottom pour lead furnace

Hello ladies and gents,

I've had a cold the past few days, so I haven't been able to go over to my uncle's property to reload and shoot with him. I should be good enough to be non-contagious tomorrow.

In the meantime, I decided to get started on a project I've neglected. A couple years ago... being tired of my Lee drip-o-matics (which actually have served me very well for the money)... i snagged a really terribly beat up Saeco bottom pour furnace from Ebay.

It's beat to hell, didn't work, rusty, and needs a lot of loving. Luckily... I'm an electronics tech, and my dad owns a pretty awesome machine shop. So I should have anything and everything I'd need to clean it up and restore it to perfect function.

The first thing I did was disassemble it the rest of the way, which is pretty self explanatory once you have one in front of you. I didn't know if the heating element would be any good or not. I used a Fluke meter to test the heater element, and got a reading of 19 ohms. NOTE: On something really old and scroungy, you might have to clean up the ends of the elements to GET a resistance reading in the first place. I wonder how many guys have thought they had a bad element, when really... they just had a badly oxidized, dirty surface that made it impossible to get a good reading?

Anyway... by ohms law, we can figure out if that 19 ohm reading should be in the ball park.

P in watts = (Voltage x Voltage)/Resistance = (120V * 120V)/19 ohms = 757.89 Watts.

So my heating element is probably good. Awesome!