Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
WidenersRepackboxLoad DataRotoMetals2
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The trialsof a NewBee slug shooter

The trialsof a NewBee slug shooter

Well friends, most of you who post in these threads know I'm pretty new to this shotgun slug shooting. I do read a lot here and am excited to be participating in a new to me adventure. There's a lot I don't know and a few things I don't even suspect. Case in point. I recently purchased a rifled barrel for my 11-87 Remington 20ga. and mounted up a Vortex Strikefire dot sight. "Let's get this bad boy sighted in" I think and off to the range I go with two boxes (five count) of Federal 3/4 oz. rifled slugs. WHAT A MESS I haven't leaded a bore so completely in years. Not flakes of lead, strips of lead. I've cleaning patched with Hoppe's, brass brushed and pushed patches of Birchwood Casey lead removing cloth down the bore ten times and not near cleaned out. You would think @ $1.25 a round Federal could build a better round. It took only seven rounds to make this mess. I've been powder coating most of my rifle and pistol bullets the last three years and I'm thinking it may be a good idea for shotgun slugs and round balls also. Done with the rant, back to the lead mine. Gp

Vendor Sponsor

I'm thinking it may be a good idea for shotgun slugs and round balls also. Done with the rant, back to the lead mine. Gp

Funny you should say that I even PC my muzzleloader bullets ..
    [SIZE=4][B]Selling Hi Quality Powdercoating Powder

I carry a Nuke50 because cleaning up the mess is Silly !!

http://www.bing.com/search?q=nuke50&...7ADE&FORM=QBLH

I am not crazy my mom had me tested

Theres a fine line between genius and crazy .. I'm that line
    and depending on the day I might just step over that line !!!

Boolit Grand Master Tripplebeards's Avatar