MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyLoad DataTitan Reloading
Inline FabricationReloading EverythingRotoMetals2Wideners
Lee Precision Repackbox

Thread: Stainless pin discovery??????

Boolit Master

Stainless pin discovery??????

I've been using SS pins in a tumbler for a few years now to clean black powder cartridges. Usually I use filtered tap water and Dawn withvavfewvdropsbof Lem-Shine. Works ok but brass does not look "like new".....
    Yesterday I was looking fir the bottle of Dawn and it was next to the box of Casscaid dishwashing pods. I decided to throw a pod intothe tumbler to see what happened. Amazing results! Absolutely clean...near " like new". I took a bunch of brass that I had "Dawned" a few months ago and cleaned them with the pods a second time. Beautiful results. Am I the first to discover this or am I late to the party.
    Roy B
    Massachusetts

www.rvbprecision.com

Boolit Grand Master Tripplebeards's Avatar
    I use the harbor freight double rock tumbler. Doesn't sound like you are using enough Lemishine and don't have the right mix ratio of dishwashing soap to Lemishine mix. I use a teaspoon of Lemishine and a tablespoon of any dishwashing liquid in each cylinder. Tumble for four hours and they come out bright and shiny. I had the same issue years ago and didn't use enough like you did and had dirty dull brass after tumbling. Tumble too long with your mix and it turns into shellacked green military looking brass. Too much Lemishine in the mix will turn the brass a dull pink to orange. Experiment and try.

Boolit Bub
    Does the harbor freight tumbler hold a decent amount of brass? I've been wondering about getting that one.

Boolit Grand Master Tripplebeards's Avatar