Snyders JerkyLoad DataTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters Supply Wideners

Thread: Headspace

Boolit Mold

Headspace

First off Iam new here and have been a person in the background. Great site. My qusetion is should a bolt in a 91 be loose with some for and aft play with no round in the chamber. I have one with a nice shiney bore but a loose feeling bolt.
    Would like to shoot it with some cast boolit loads but not sure if it is safe. Do not know of any gunsmiths in my area to have it checked out. (Oregon} maybe somebody can help me out

In Remebrance

You can also allow for the extra headspace by fire forming brass with a light load and then not over re-sizing the brass. Basically you will be moving the shoulder forward a bit. BTW- My '91 has a bit of play too, but it's more in the design than wear and tear.

Boolit Grand Master

Wow...I've been shooting M91s for 30+ years and now I find out they are "well known for developing headspace"! I never heard of that before. I'm well aware of the problem with softer Spanish M93s. Everyone seems to think all spanish M93s are soft but they are not.

To answer the question; yes the bolt will have some end play. This is because it cocks on closing and when closed with the striker forward it does not have a cocking lug to provide tension. A perfectly normal situation for the M91. I've measured the heaspace of numerous M91s and found them all to be quite close and well within military specifications of go, no go and field. Actually they are of closer talerance than most M98s. This is because they are a push feed action and do not have the controlled feed claw extractor. Thus headspace tolerances were held close because the extractor has to snap over the cartridge rim.