Graf & SonsRotoMetals2Inline FabricationLee Precision
ADvertise hereStainLess Steel MediaTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Double temperature controller

  1. #1
    Boolit Bub RasKebir's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    25

    Double temperature controller

    Hi to all,
    I was watching some videos on youtube and I observed that the casting machines use two temperature controller, why?
    Do they have two cell in the furnace/pot with two different temperatures?
    Thanks to everyone

  2. #2
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    194
    No, it was probably a PID controller. The one on the pot is ok but not as accurate. I try my pot and it jumped all around. Built a PID and its spot on

  3. #3
    Boolit Bub RasKebir's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    25
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DTC.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	56.8 KB 
ID:	219569

    For example

  4. #4
    Boolit Bub RasKebir's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    25
    @evoevil
    The photo I attached is as you say?

  5. #5
    Boolit Man
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    The people's republic of Commifornia, in Somerset
    Posts
    80
    That pot looks like it does have two Chambers to it, and there does look to be two PID controllers in the panel. Pretty interesting.

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    345
    Yep. One for each chamber. Pre-melt and pour.

    Sent fra min SM-G930F via Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Boolit Bub RasKebir's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    25
    But they have the same setting, 675

  8. #8
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by RasKebir View Post
    But they have the same setting, 675
    I can see that. That's not ideal. I allways set the pre-melt side about 50F lower than the pouring side.

    Sent fra min SM-G930F via Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    194
    Cool pot, never seen one like that before

  10. #10
    Boolit Master


    Walter Laich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cypress, Republic of Texas
    Posts
    3,023
    at least no temp change when the lead goes from one chamber to the other

    seems like a waste of electrons (& $$) though
    NRA Life
    USPSA L1314
    SASS Life 48747
    RVN War Games, 2nd Place

  11. #11
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    4,337
    I think I can answer this.

    Two PIDs are used because as stated its two pots.
    Now before you say that was mentioned above (it was), let me explain further.

    Premelt pot you add lead to it. It will drop in temp when this happens.
    The pour side should stay pretty close to set point.
    You don't want to be calling for heating on the pour side when its already up to temp but you added lead to the premelt side.

  12. #12
    Boolit Bub RasKebir's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    25
    Interesting observation.

    Thanks to everyone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check