Snyders JerkyWidenersRepackboxMidSouth Shooters Supply
Load DataInline FabricationReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Lee Precision RotoMetals2

Thread: Wire size

Boolit Master

Wire size

My step son is tring to set up his travel tralor. 30 amp plug,80 ft from the breaker box. He ran a 10 gauge wire it wouldnt run the ac. he ran a 6 gauge still no luck.hooked up a genarator everything worked fine. He isn't tripping any breakers? Any ideas I don't have a volt meter
    when the dust settles and the smoke clears all that matters is I hear the words " well done my good and faithfully servant "

<(*)(()><

Banned
    Funny question, Load, length of run determines wire size and breakers as service

Boolit Master

#6 copper should do it, aluminum you need to go to #4

Boolit Master
    A quick lesson in electricity and RV air conditioners: I was an electrician in 2 different RV plants and an industrial electrician for a few years after that. A 13,500 BTU RV AC will draw about 18 amps when running, figure about 2-3 times that when the compressor starts.

As a rule of thumb for every 100 feet of wire between the power supply and the motor you need to up-size the wire by one gauge.
    I suspect that you do not have 110 volts at the breaker box due to the wire length from the transformer to the breaker box.
    You can try running a 4 gauge copper wire but that would get expensive.
    I suspect that instead of tripping the breaker you are getting an interrupt from the starter on the AC compressor motor.

Boolit Master
    #10 should do 30 amps at less than 5% voltage drop which is the usual limit.

#6 should be under 2% voltage drop which is the usual off grid limit. I would suspect the 30 amp plug and whatever is behind it.
    Mal

Mal Paso means Bad Pass, just so you know.

Boolit Master

Quote Originally Posted by Pipefitter View Post