Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionRepackboxReloading Everything
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad DataWideners
MidSouth Shooters Supply Inline Fabrication

Thread: Best wad for .678" round ball?

Boolit Master

Best wad for .678" round ball?

Hello

What are the top 2 wads to use for .678" round ball in a 12 Ga.?

I am asking for the top 2 because, for example,
    wad "XXX" may be the best but is very expensive or hard/impossible to get,
    but wad "ZZZ" may only be 90% as good but is common, easy to get, and inexpensive.

Thanks!
    Ed

Boolit Master

for what hull?
    "My main ambition in life is to be on the devil's most wanted list."
    Leonard Ravenhill

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogtamer View Post
    for what hull?
    First off, I am a shot shell reloading newbie.
    (Been doing metallic rifle/pistol for decades)
    I have a MEC 600 Jr. and also hull vise and roll crimp tool, so can do either roll or fold crimp.

OK, let talk about 2 different types of 12 Ga. hulls.

1. fiocchi 2 3/4" 16mm clear or the new federal 2 3/4" clear.
    I'm mostly interested in these (as compared to the Rem gun clubs below).
    I understand that both of these are straight walled and thus should take the same wads, and loads should be interchangeable (+/- a bit of wad column height).
    https://www.ballisticproducts.com/Fi...nfo/064121600/
    https://www.ballisticproducts.com/Fe...tinfo/0621275/

2. Remington gun clubs or nitros.
    Compression formed. can get these once fired locally cheap.
    These are 2nd in line of interest for me as compared to the fiocchi and clear federals.
    I understand that these hulls have a different internal capacity and tapered inside diameter
    of the hull as it nears the base, and thus will probably need a different wad than the fiocchi and fed hulls
    and probably a different powder load.

I'm interested in making loads of around 1300 FPS or so.
    Not real hot cannon blasters.