RepackboxLee PrecisionReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Snyders JerkyInline FabricationRotoMetals2Load Data
Wideners MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Remington Rolling Block shotguns, could or should you convert them?

Remington Rolling Block shotguns, could or should you convert them?

So, there are a couple RRB shotguns on an auction. I am really intrigued by the simple action.

I am no expert, but can see a bit of difference in the two actions. they are of similar size but slightly different features.

One, a 16ga, has a shotgun type of butt plate. While the other, a 20ga, has a crescent plate.

The pictures are very vague and of only the profile. Kind of a pig-in-a-poke for a neophyte like myself.

If a person were to get these, would they be candidates to rebarrel in a mild cartridge? Or, maybe just load slugs in a brass cartridge and play at 50 yards.

Not really much of a shotgunner.

I am all ears.

Concho, Arizona. At home in the White Mountains at last. Formerly living in Mobile Alabama.
    I would be real interested in hearing also. Have seen them on several sites too.

corbinance, When considering buying a gun on a auction site you first need to see good quality photos of all of the areas you are concerned about. I have bought many and learned a lot about reading exactly what the seller is telling you and if there are good pics look them over really close for things that don't belong. Contact the seller with questions and ask for better pics and if they don't respond don't deal with them.
    Buying a rolling block shotgun to convert to a rifle can be done but remember the breech block and extractor are made to fit a giant sized shotshell and if you want to build something Mutch smaller like a small pistol cartridge I would look for a rolling block better suited.