Load DataTitan ReloadingRepackboxPBcastco
MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationReloading EverythingLee Precision
RotoMetals2 Wideners

Thread: new to cast bullets and have questions about molds

Banned

new to cast bullets and have questions about molds

i am brand new to casting my own bullets and was wondering about molds. i will be shooting 9mm, 357mag, 44, and 358 winny. inhabe shot a lot of cast bullets in the past at targets and game but they were all puechased from other sources. right now i have the lee 358-158-rf and the lee 358-125-rf. is the quality of other molds enough to pay several times the cost? i look at these as a lifetime investment with proper care and i dont mind spending what it costs for GOOD tools if the difference in quality is worth the price! also, what brand of molds will the lee handles work on? thanks for the help getting started.

Boolit Buddy
    I have both Lee and NOE molds. Both work well for me. NOE offers molds with a plain base bullet which is why I got them. Lee handles work on my 2 cavity NOE molds with no problems.
    Have fun

Banned
    Welcome to CB willicd76

Lee Commercial 6 cavity handles work on my multi-cavity NOE molds with no problems.

Lee molds and equipment are the most economical way to start.

You need treat aluminum molds more carefully than cast iron molds.

Many people have started with Lee and have found no need to pay more.

I started with the Lee PRO 4 20LB 110V casting pot and have found no need to "upgrade"

Many of the molds I use most are the Lee 6 cavity molds even though I have a collection of the other "higher dollar" molds.

6 CAVITY 356-125 2R drop large and work well in 9MM & 357

358-158-rf is my favorite 38 spcl/357 mold

I powder coat or HiTek coat al my boolits so the lube design doesn't matter to me

240 grn like the TL430-240SWC work good in the 44.