WidenersInline FabricationLee PrecisionRepackbox
Reloading EverythingLoad DataTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Accuracy and velocity with coated bullets

Accuracy and velocity with coated bullets

Is anyone with serious expectations for accuracy and velocity using coated boolits routinely for competition or hunting?

Another question is if there are any coatings that can be cured by baking under 200 degrees? Beyond 200 degrees lead alloys lose their temper and undergo hardness changes which may be adverse.

Do the same requirements for hardness apply? Are gas checks necessary.

I have some experience with paper jacketing bullets, which seems to work in an analogous fashion (preventing lead steel-contact, sealing the bore, etc.). But paper jackets are very precise in their thickness and evenness. They have proven accuracy and velocity. They are also time consuming as all get out!

Boolit Master
    I use ASBB HF red.

Where I use it for 357 maximum loads, I can do full power with no issues at all. I used PC on 200 gr Lee boolits out of a Dan Wesson revolver for IHMSA last year. I am working on a cast then swaged 160 gr boolit for this years IHMSA shoots.

I also use it for 30-30 and 30 Herrett loads with my 14" barrels for my TC Contenders. If I push these too hard, accuracy goes south. I think that the loss of accuracy at full power is not related to using PC. I hope to use a PC on 165 (home crafted mold) or a Lee 170 for unlimited class for some IHMSA shooting this year.

I use PC on 110 gr boolits for full power 327 loads in my SP 101. The PC coating does everything I want for this gun.

I use PC on 357 magnum loads for various guns. It works fine even with full power loads.

I use PC for 44 magnum loads for an old Ruger single action. I can load them to full power with no problems and no loss of accuracy.

All of the above is done with lead from an outdoor range. This is what I would call "medium hard".