Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingPBcastcoMidSouth Shooters Supply
RepackboxRotoMetals2Load DataReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am considering a Ruger GP100 22lr. Need opinions from users.

I am considering a Ruger GP100 22lr. Need opinions from users.

I am considering a Ruger GP100 in 22lr.
    I would like some feedback from people who have owned them and shot them enough to know just how accurate they are and what problems to look out for.
    I like the 10 shot capacity and the price. I have no experience with them.

Boolit Buddy
    Tazman-I have one and it is totally reliable but, and it's a big but. Mine needed lots of work. First it had to go back to Ruger for timing. The throats would not line up with the barrel. The hammer dragged the frame so bad that it was hard to cock in single action. Now in all honesty, Ruger made these issues right so I only have one major beef. I had Doug Guy clean the throats up but they still measured .2267 from the factory.

Now for me, that is unacceptable. Doug Guy does great work but even with all his skill, He can't add metal. Because I broke my leg month ago, I haven't made it to the range to test fire. before the cylinder was evened out I was able to get half-way decent groups with CCI SV, The old bulk pack CCI AR tac and the 2017 CCI christmas bulk pack. This, only because the driving bands on all of these measure .225-.2255.
    I own, shoot and enjoy two GP100"s and they are my most used handguns. My only advice would be to examine as many GP100 22's as you can find and really go over them. I was so excited to find one, that I screwed up and bought first and examined later.
    Kirk

I had a SP & GP in 22lr. Both bought used, didn't impress me at all and wasn't interested enough
    in them to have any work done on them. I'm behind on prices on new guns but I believe a m17
    shooter could be found for same money. In a revolver they are hard to beat.