RotoMetals2Inline FabricationLoad DataReloading Everything
MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersLee PrecisionRepackbox
Titan Reloading Snyders Jerky

Thread: 1876 Uberti Win

Boolit Mold

1876 Uberti Win

Hi this is my first post so if I do something incorrectly please forgive me. I have over 40 years reloading experience using both smokeless and Bp. I am having little luck making a Uberti Win shoot. I have tried both Bp and smokeless loads to no avail. The best I can muster is 2 1/2' t 3' at fifty yards. The rifle is chambered in 50/90 and the bullet mold that I have is a lyman 515139. I have tried three different types of Bp with loads running from 70grs to 80grs with and without lube cookies and three different smokeless powders IMR 4198 5744 and Trail boss. Velocitys rang from 1150 to 1500fps. Any suggestions from people with experience with this rifle and chambering would be appreciated.

Hi Wayne, and welcome to the forum. It's a good place to be, mostly nice people, and a lot for a fellow like you to contribute! Although I've got a Uberti Win. it's a .44-40, so I really can't address your question. But if you go up a way on this page you'll see a box at the extreme left edge of the top bar, right under the ads, that says "Forum". Then, click on that and scroll down through all the choices and you'll see several sub forums that might be a better place to post your question to get a knowledgeable answer...maybe "Lever Actions" or one about cast bullets. Welcome aboard!

Welcome Wayne, can't really help you but have you slugged the bore for proper boolit fit? Also, The twist of the barrel has a lot to do with the weight of boolit to use. There is a wealth of information here to be had, don't give up, you're reaching out and others will chime in I'm sure. Lots of free info available on this site.

Slim
    JUST GOTTA LOVE THIS JOINT.