Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionLoad Data
Reloading EverythingWidenersRepackboxInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: How oval is too oval? Does it REALLY matter??

Boolit Mold

How oval is too oval? Does it REALLY matter??

I have been casting for about three years now. I started with a lee 200 gr .450 conical mold for my 1851 navy, and recently started casting for my 45-70 with the lee .457-405. My mold blocks aren't perfectly aligned giving me a size of .455 at narrowest and .464 at largest. I know round is ideal, but I cast some up last night and a few I selected for testing grouped in one hole at 30 yards. I don't size yet as I pretty much just got started with serious casting and reloading. Any thoughts?

Boolit Grand Master

If you don't shoot farther than 30 yards your oval bullets are doing well. It really doesn't take much to properly aligned the mould blocks....then you wouldn't have the problem......just a suggestion.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Grand Master

I've found mold temp. and melt temp. to affect "roundness" of the bullet. Experiment with hotter mold temps. and cooler mold temps. Same with alloy, it may have a big difference. Keep notes so you can repeat good results...
    My Anchor is holding fast!

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry Gibson View Post
    If you don't shoot farther than 30 yards your oval bullets are doing well. It really doesn't take much to properly aligned the mould blocks....then you wouldn't have the problem......just a suggestion.
    I've taken a few shots at 100 yards, and am getting -1.75 inch group. Maybe they are coming to round in the barrel? No leading either. As for the mold, the blocks are slightly off. There is a definite ridge on the parting line, the halves are a few thou out of alignment. How would I go about fixing?