Lee PrecisionStainLess Steel MediaADvertise hereTitan Reloading
Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyGraf & SonsRotoMetals2

Page 30 of 30 FirstFirst ... 2021222324252627282930
Results 581 to 590 of 590

Thread: Making that Bullet Collator

  1. #581
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    58
    You may need to setup the center of your print bed. The best solution is to upgrade to Marlin Firmware and then center your printer bed in the Firmware configuration files. But, upgrading the newer Anet A8 1.5 boards can be difficult.

    I donít know of any center/offset settings in the Anet Firmware but you can definitely add center/offset commands in your slicing software (Cura). In Cura the settings are in the same area you set your printer type. Just print a centering target (lots of these on Thingiverse) and measure how far off the center of the bed your currently printing.

  2. #582
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,145
    If the part moved on the table, that’s not a program(ing) problem but a bed issue.

    If it started out in the wrong place and you had it in the right place before slicing, I imagine you have a configuration problem and Cura thinks you have a larger bed than you do.

    I would double check the configuration and likely print a tiny simple part in the center and see where it actually prints. If nothing else I could tell where Cura thinks the center of my bed is.

  3. #583
    I'm A Honcho!

    Lakehouse2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    South Lyon & Oscoda, Michigan
    Posts
    469
    Here is an update for anyone following my earlier issue.

    I did small part position tests, and it appears to be related to the position in Cura. I have the bed X&Y size 220mm. But for some reason I have to put the part at -28,-28 in Cura, in order to get it to print on the center of my actual bed...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cura bed position.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	40.0 KB 
ID:	220797

  4. #584
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Lakehouse2012 View Post
    Here is an update for anyone following my earlier issue.

    I did small part position tests, and it appears to be related to the position in Cura. I have the bed X&Y size 220mm. But for some reason I have to put the part at -28,-28 in Cura, in order to get it to print on the center of my actual bed...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cura bed position.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	40.0 KB 
ID:	220797
    Change your machine settings to your print bed size.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	printer_settings.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	54.1 KB 
ID:	220803

    Or use finished profiles like this:
    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2442909
    Sarcasm: the ability to insult idiots without them realize it.

  5. #585
    I'm A Honcho!

    Lakehouse2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    South Lyon & Oscoda, Michigan
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by AmmoMike83 View Post
    Change your machine settings to your print bed size.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	printer_settings.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	54.1 KB 
ID:	220803

    Or use finished profiles like this:
    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2442909
    I'm not following you Mike. The actual bed measures 220◊220, why would I use 300x300?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  6. #586
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Lakehouse2012 View Post
    I'm not following you Mike. The actual bed measures 220◊220, why would I use 300x300?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    That are the default values for the CR-10S. If you use them with 300x300 mm bed, it will move you object in the upper left corner during print. Change that to 220x220 and use that cura profile.

    clear now?
    Last edited by AmmoMike83; 05-22-2018 at 09:19 AM.
    Sarcasm: the ability to insult idiots without them realize it.

  7. #587
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Lakehouse2012 View Post
    I'm not following you Mike. The actual bed measures 220◊220, why would I use 300x300?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    https://4noobs.de/viewtopic.php?t=101
    Sarcasm: the ability to insult idiots without them realize it.

  8. #588
    I'm A Honcho!

    Lakehouse2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    South Lyon & Oscoda, Michigan
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by AmmoMike83 View Post
    It appears I have a different issue... When I setup the machine All Home wasn't working. Diagnosing, it appeared that switching the X & Y limit switches on the MB, got me to printing. However, now I'm noticing that Cura is rotating 90 degrees from where I thought I was setting parts on center. I have the tub at 54% right now, so can't verify until tomorrow night, but appears that I have more wires crossed than just the switches, maybe motors need to move as well?.....

  9. #589
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by Lakehouse2012 View Post
    It appears I have a different issue... When I setup the machine All Home wasn't working. Diagnosing, it appeared that switching the X & Y limit switches on the MB, got me to printing. However, now I'm noticing that Cura is rotating 90 degrees from where I thought I was setting parts on center. I have the tub at 54% right now, so can't verify until tomorrow night, but appears that I have more wires crossed than just the switches, maybe motors need to move as well?.....
    Interesting that switching the x and y limit switches helped initially as theyíre identical limit switches. Sounds like you may very well have your X and Y stepper motors reversed though. Itís easy enough to swap those connectors on the motherboard once your print finishes.

  10. #590
    I'm A Honcho!

    Lakehouse2012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    South Lyon & Oscoda, Michigan
    Posts
    469
    You NAILED is razorfish! I returned limit switchs to factory position, but the stepper motors were wrong from the factory. I traced the wires back to each motor and verified the label on the board, they were wrong. I ran a small print and now it's right on center of the bed, my problem of part positioning on the board goes away!!!

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by razorfish View Post
    Interesting that switching the x and y limit switches helped initially as they’re identical limit switches. Sounds like you may very well have your X and Y stepper motors reversed though. It’s easy enough to swap those connectors on the motherboard once your print finishes.

Page 30 of 30 FirstFirst ... 2021222324252627282930

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check