WidenersTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Inline FabricationReloading EverythingRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
Load Data Repackbox

Thread: Removing Lube grooves from a Lee 452-200 6 Cavity mold.

Boolit Mold

Removing Lube grooves from a Lee 452-200 6 Cavity mold.

I am a newbie to casting and this forum. My first casting goal is the reproduce the great ACME 200 SWC NLG HiTech coated bullets I have been using for several years. I am documenting the process I used here in case it may be useful to others wishing to do the same. Keep In mind that I have very limited resources, no mill or lathe (yet), as the saying goes I have more time than money. With proper resources I would have just purchased a custom mold.

Boolit Mold
    The first step was to purchase and fabricate a cutter. I started with a 29/64 carbide reamer purchased off of eBay for $8.50. This cutter was nearly new with sharp carbides. Testing with pin gauges showed it reamed holes to .454 (or probably closer to .4535). The part that makes this project interesting is that I wanted to preserve the bevel back on the bullets so I wanted the cutter face to be no longer than .230. Using diamond cutters (needed for cutting the carbide sections) in my dremel I removed the morse taper, shorted the reamer and cut the relief. I then carefully stoned approximately .001 off the face of each cutter and tested in an aluminum block until I was sure it was reaming a .452 hole. I then fashioned a collar to make sure the cutter ran perpendicular to the mold.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cutter.jpg 
Views:	98 
Size:	24.3 KB 
ID:	213368

Boolit Mold