RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
WidenersRepackboxInline FabricationLee Precision
Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Possible double charge??

Possible double charge??

I've been handloading for about 9 years now & casting boolits for about 8 years. Never an issue, til now. Shooting my New Vaquero 45 Colt a few days ago using 7.0 grains of Titegroup under the NOE 285-WFN. After 44 successful rounds, number 45 had considerable more blast, so I stopped to check things. I could not eject the brass. The gun looked fine. I don't recall any excessive recoil, just a louder report. According to Brian Pearce, 7.5 grains of the same powder is maximum at 14,000 psi under the RCBS 270-SAA boolit, which actually weighs 285 grains also with wheel weight alloy. With all that said, I was wondering if someone with the Quickload software could give me an estimation of what the pressure might be for a double charge of my 7 grain load? Thanks

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    Too much!!!!
    The ENEMY is listening.
    HE wants to know what YOU know.
    Keep it to yourself.

A double charge of 14 grains should have damaged your gun.

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    Quote Originally Posted by tazman View Post
    I've seen Ruger's digest some insane loads without blowing up...
    While cylinder and topstrap may have held, I would expect a bulged chamber...

Did that to an original 1884 Trapdoor firing double-charge of 22 grs. of 700X and 370-grain bullet. No apparent external damage, but required a piece of 3/8" drill rod and 3 pound dead blow hammer to get case out and rifle from then on was a wall hanger. Actually sold it for more than I p[aid for it, even with non-firing red tag warning of bulged chamber. It now decorates a cowboy themed bar above the mirror.
    The ENEMY is listening.
    HE wants to know what YOU know.
    Keep it to yourself.

Boolit Master