WidenersRepackboxLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Inline FabricationSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Reloading Everything Load Data

Thread: Trying to understand rimfire balistics

Boolit Master

Trying to understand rimfire balistics

OK so some one started asking me questions about 22lr ballistics...which I'm not really good at except general come ups.
    And what I know from shooting 1040-1070ish ammo through my rifles.

So he has a nice cz and on no wind days I have seen him post some darn near moa groups routinely so he is a good shot.
    Now he also gets some nice groups with win X rated at 1255fps.
    Now he's only shot some SV at 100 yards and has written down some standard adjustment that hes worked out for his rifle.
    He has a wireless windspeed and direction meter and had a pretty steady 10mph full value wind.
    He called me a bit stumped as his regular load was shooting was on at elevation and even with the wind and cold pulled out a nice group of 1.5" at 100 yard but the wind was pretty consistent and his 3 10shot groups where all close to about 5-5.5" left I don't have pictures but his center of each group is pretty darn perfect.
    Now he wanted to see what the winx 1255fps rn would do he has a 25 yard indoor range so he set his zero for the 1255s by this time the wind died down and he was off to 100 yards. His groups where not as tight as the 1070 target but all under 2" just under. He was dead nuts on elevation with 3 groups settled into the 10 ring on a SR1 target. Then the winds came again with a 8-10mph range. But now his center of his groups are hitting Almost 8" off center. He never adjusted scope for any windage.
    What he thought is the faster load should have had less drift as its traveling faster with less time for wind to push the bullet.

So I ran some numbers through the calculator.
    I used a .09 as a BC as I have no idea what BC of 22lr is. I used the default weather settings and a 10mph 90' wind