RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataRepackbox
Reloading EverythingInline FabricationTitan ReloadingLee Precision
Snyders Jerky Wideners

Thread: Lyman 17a??

Lyman 17a??

I have a Armi Sport Sharps with long range pedersoli tang sight. Was thinking about replacing the front blade with a Lyman 17a but not sure which one I need, or even if that's my best choice. I'm new at the BPCR game, so any help would be deeply appreciated.

Boolit Grand Master

If your set on the 17A. simply mesuure the Hieght of you blade from bottom of dovetail and find the one 17A with the closest center line height. And the right width dovetail. I believe they come in 3 dovetail widths and several heights.
    If your not dead set on the lyman, look at the MVA front globes preferably one with the level. The sights on these rifles are High at longer ranges and maintaining level helps a lot shooting good groups. The MVA with level comes with a pretty complete set of appetures, and others are more available for it. Makers of front Globes to look at are MVA, Lee Shaver, Distant Thunder, Buffalo Arms company, and even pedersolis has some.
    I have a pedersoli long range soule on my Pedersoli long range Sharps in 45-70 and adjustments are iffy as to repeatability with it. My MVA rears are much better. The Front globe on it is a windage adjustable front by pedersoli and its okay. It does allow rough windage to be made at the front sight, keeping rear more centered for a better head position. I have MVAs long range soules on my other rifles and spirit level front globes that are very good and usable.
    Distant Thunder has a front globe thats at a slight angle to help with sight picture when sights are cranked up for long range. I believe they also make one with a octagon shaped globe to match the barrel, I would prefer the round models for the better sight picture they give. Do some research and see whats available and in your price range.