Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingRotoMetals2Load Data
WidenersInline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fryxell's Home Made Moly Lube - Experiences/ Opinion?

Boolit Master

Fryxell's Home Made Moly Lube - Experiences/ Opinion?

I saw this lube in an article by Glen Fryxell, "Herter's .401 Powermag". Pretty simple formula:

1/2 Beeswax
    1/2 Sta-Lube Moly-Graph Grease

Has anyone here tried it? Experiences? Opinions? I checked the Sta-Lube and it seems to be SL3330 in a cartridge. They make a lot of greases. Easily available and not expensive.

Boolit Man
    i have been using it for a few years now I like it in revolvers, have ran it slow to 1600-1700 fps in them with no trouble if the alloy is right. I have used it in 30-06 308 and 30-30 with good results under 2000fps but have not ran it faster than that in 30 caliber. I dont care for it in 1911 it does its job but leaves a grey film/soot all over/in the pistol it cleans off easy enough it just kinda bugs me so i use white lable BAC in 1911. Now that i think about it it does the same to a revolver a stainless gun in an extended shooting session will have a light grayish film all over it, never bothered be on a revolver. Must be one of those grey areas.

Boolit Master
    I use something similar .but dilute the b/wax with parafin,then add Molybond MoS2 oildag.,with a dash of Castrol R40 to make it sticky. And it is sticky,try getting it off the floor....No doubt that MoS2 is a excellent lube,Ive used it in machinery for years.......wont panlube though,its only max sticky worked thru a lubrisizer...there is no need to lube cases for loading,the smudge left is good for lube.

I have made it and used it on a few calibers. Worked really well, but was sticky/tacky when loading. I added a bit of carnuba to the mix to try and harden it just a bit, worked "ok" on hardening it, and performance was same as before.