Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionRotoMetals2Wideners
Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
Repackbox Reloading Everything

Thread: Police Scanners

Boolit Master

Police Scanners

My son would like a police scanner for Christmas. I have no experience in this area. What should I be looking for? I see there are analog and digital scanners available.

Banned
    Depends HEAVILY on what radio systems are in use in your area.

A lot of the new public safety radio systems are 800 MHz, Digital. Some are trunking systems and some of those are encrypted.

If the stuff is encrypted, you're done and there's nothing that can be used to hear that without the right gear AND the key.

The trunking systems typically use one of the standardized trunking formats and some scanners can deal with that, to some degree.

If your area still uses the old analog systems (usually VHF low band, VHF high band, and UHF), then a standard analog scanner will pick up a fair amount depending on factors such as distance to the repeater and terrain.

I'd check with your local fire/rescue/police folks before buying. You probably want to talk to someone that KNOWS the system and not just a user of the system. A lot of people that use that equipment don't have a clue how it really works.

Also I think some scanners pick up cordless phone conversations. Just something to think about if you use those type of phones. Seem to recall Prince Charles relationship with Camille was discovered via police scanner.
    Scrap.... because all the really pithy and emphatic four letter words were taken and we had to describe this source of casting material somehow so we added an "S" to what non casters and wives call what we collect.

Kind of hard to claim to love America while one is hating half the Americans that disagree with you. One nation indivisible requires work.

Feedback page http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...light=RogerDat

Boolit Master