MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingLee PrecisionWideners
RepackboxRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Load Data Snyders Jerky

Thread: Compression dies.

Compression dies.

I'm very new to black powder loading but I have a few rifles I believe I could use for that purpose. For starters, Handi rifles in 357mag, 444 Marlin and 45-70 Gov. For cartridge reloading, how important is it to use compression dies? If you believe them to be a plus, do you think a NOE expansion plug just smaller than your neck expansion would work for this. 6 or seven dollars for the plugs is much cheaper than expansion dies. Advice welcome. Gp

My expansion plugs have rounded shoulders while my compression insert is square shouldered. If I compress the powder with an expander it leaves a ring of powder that's taller around the inside circumference of the case. If the bullet seats on the ring it will leave a small air gap under it. I don't know if it's enough to ring a chamber. I do know my compression insert doesn't do that.

Boolit Grand Master

A quick way to compress is make a dummy bullet to match the one your loading from brass, aluminum, or hardwood ( hard maple does well) get it as close as possible to shape and .010 under on dia. then use your bullet seater to compress. If the bullet is close then you shouldnt even have to reset the seater. Being undersized it comes out easily by hand. It an be smooth sided as grease grooves arnt needed either. You can turn form it up in a lathe or files and a drill press working by hand.

1) turn dia .010 undersized
    2) form nose as close as possible to the one your using
    3) cut to length +.050-.100
    4) test on a case and trim base to length