Inline FabricationLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
WidenersTitan ReloadingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Repackbox Lee Precision

Thread: Re-Loading the 45 ACP

Boolit Buddy

Re-Loading the 45 ACP

I have re-loaded for many years but not for the 45ACP. Looking at several re-loading hand books the powder charge for a 230 Gr JHP is quite a bit less then for the FMJ of the same weight. Why is this the caser?

That's a good question. I guess they reached the pressure level sooner with the JHP. Myself, I've never varied the powder charge for the same weight bullet. I've loaded .45 ACP since 1980.

Boolit Grand Master

Could just be the different design of the bullet has more bearing length thus increasing pressures more for a standard charge.

Boolit Master
    Due to loading manual differences,,, they give different results with their chosen components. That is why I use a chronograph to determine exactly what I get. I've been loading my 45 ACP for over 20 years,,, and I've used my reloads in competition. A chrono is a must.

Boolit Master
    I can’t look right now, but are the OAL’s shorter for the JHP? Given the same bullet weight that means more cartridge space consumed by the bullet, less room for powder expansion and therefore higher pressure. Just a guess.

Boolit Grand Master

Also a hollow point of the same weight may be a longer bullet seating in the case deeper for the OAL. Bullet shape and ogive may also play a part in this.

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by country gent View Post
    Also a hollow point of the same weight may be a longer bullet seating in the case deeper for the OAL. Bullet shape and ogive may also play a part in this.
    My thoughts as well

Boolit Grand Master