WidenersSnyders JerkyReloading EverythingLoad Data
Inline FabricationRepackboxTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Casting Minnie' Bullets, kink in my casting technique !

Angry Casting Minnie' Bullets, kink in my casting technique !

Gents could not quite seem to find the right spot for this query. I have been casting minnie bullets since about 1973 and over the years have got pretty good at it. After eyeballing for faults I get a about a 4 grain variation and these bullets are about 600 grain with a reasonably deep hollow and a fairly thick skirt.
    I seem to of late got a kink in my casting technique and keep getting shrinkage coming up from the top of the base plug, normally you will get shrinkage with really hot lead down from the sprue plate, particularly if you don't leave enough of a puddle there.
    I did clean the pot and put a new charge of 99.98% pure bar lead in , just in case some lino type may have got mixed into the works. Bullets form nicely in the mould, and I am finding the same with my Prichett bullets as well. Has anyone else had this happen and worked out what was going on

cheers

Heelerau
    Keep yor hoss well shod an' yo powda dry !

Banned

you might have got some lead with some calcium in/on it too.
    it could have been as simple as they got wet with hard water and it picked it up from that.

Well, you've stuck upon one of my great struggles in life. I may even write book about this I'm thinking about a title like "Mein Kampf" or something....