RepackboxRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad Data
Reloading EverythingWidenersInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shotshell reloading question

Shotshell reloading question

Dumb question here. And please excuse and move if this is in the wrong section. We need a shotgun section.

Anyway. So I got the lyman shotshell loading handbook and I read some of it, and skimmed most of it.

Once you have your
    hull
    powder
    wad
    shot charge weight

all selected per the manual.... can you use any shot size? I mean, if you are loading 1 1/8 oz shot charges, then say #4 and #7 1/2 are both use with the same recipe right? I looked for this answer, but it wasnt clearly listed anywhere I could find.

Also, will I need different shot charge bushings to throw the same weight of different sizes shot?

Thanks for the clarification.

~Bazoo

Banned

I'm no expert, but I believe 1 1/8 oz. is 1 1/8 oz. regardless of shot size. I don't think it matters until you get into buck shot where you need to count the number of pellets because they have to stack a certain way.

I started loading round balls in 12 and 20 gauge and just used the closest weight data I could for the powder and wad combo. Seemed to work OK.

By the way, there is a forum "Casting for Shotguns" and a lot of guys much more knowledgeable than me post in there regularly.

Banned

Yes you are correct, the load data is constructed by the weight of the charge, although case type and type of wad have some to do. Yup filler her up with what size shot you want to use.