• Sporter (Scoped)

25 58.14%
  • Both, for the fun

14 32.56%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 22 Hornet for varminting - thoughts

Boolit Grand Master In Remembrance

22 Hornet for varminting - thoughts

I'm trying (some'd say VERY trying :P) to get back set up for varminting, Chucks and Coyotes mainly. Working on getting 223 and 243 set up, but also I've thought of getting a .22 Hornet for closer-in varmints. More "oomph" out near 100 yards than .22LR.

One outing TOO long ago, 2 of us fired 5000 rounds over 10 days or so, you'd shoot till that bolt gun was hot & change to another one, we DID of course leave breeding stocks of 'Chucks there - There had been 2 warm winters in a row though, and their numbers had skyrocketed; They were digging new tunnels ALL over. The land owner, a horse rancher, was losing lots of horses due to broken legs and then they'd founder, I guess even with slings, I am NOT a horse expert tho - was going to either Paralytic Poison his whole spread, OR, call us in, we were glad to go. Dang that was fun but challenging

So I've been thinking, do I want a longer barreled Contender for 22 Hornet, or just get a decent cheap sporter in 22 Hornet, or just use a .22LR? Choices, Choices... What do you folks use for those varmints? [Next I need to find someone in Eastern WA who has a severe varmint problem, I know where to go ask, should be someone there needing help.]

Banned

Do they make Contender rifle barrels in .22 Hornet? I have one in .17 HMR and it is a neat rifle, but I'd a lot rather have it in a Hornet.

To me, where the Hornet really shines is with reduced cast squirrel loads. I have .223s for anything more. Just not sure "full power" loads in the Hornet really makes sense when we have .22s and .223s.