Load DataRotoMetals2RepackboxInline Fabrication
Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersReloading Everything
Lee Precision Snyders Jerky

Thread: New to inlines, cva optima 50 cal advise

Boolit Buddy

New to inlines, cva optima 50 cal advise

Folks, as title says I'm new to these inlines, I have years ago shot a traditional cap and ball until I loaned it to a friend and it came back all rusty and pitted !

Here in Indiana the congress critters "screwed" up and our pistol caliber rifles are not legal this year so I purchased this optima (have it Wed.) to use.

I have spent too much time researching inlines and learned much.

My question is can I shoot a 45c boolit, pc'd, (saa452270 gr, currently used in my blackhawk) sized to fit the bore with out a sabot ?

My first thought would be use a sabot but then my reading talked about conical.... does that mean without a sabot ?

I have some 44 and 45 xtp's and proper sabots on order to try also.

Help me out here, hope this make sense.

Thanks
    Dave

Boolit Master
    You wont get a 45cal bullet to shoot out of a 50cal barrel without using a sabot. Try shooting them with the sabot and see how they group.
    I shoot 452 swaged soft lead bullets with a sabot in my TC Omega with good results.

Boolit Master