RotoMetals2WidenersSnyders JerkyRepackbox
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters Supply
Load Data Reloading Everything

Thread: Looking for info on Heneried original henry

Boolit Grand Master

Looking for info on Heneried original henry

I have been working with BP Cartridges for several years now pretty much exclusively. I am considering purchasing a Henry Original Henry lever action steel framed version in 44-40. Ive e-mailed them and am planning on setting it up with a tang sight and small front globe. With the action length and 24.5" barrel this will give a nice sight radious. I'm looking for any information on the rifle and or 44-40 loads with Black Powder. I'm thinking a 210-220 grn round nosed bullet. This will be used strictly for plinking and paper targets, maybe a little Ohio Deer hunting later on. All information will be appreciated.

Boolit Master

The 44-40 is considered a bottleneck cartridge and would make it illegal in Ohio for deer.
    Political correctness is a national suicide pact.

I am a sovereign individual, accountable
    only to God and my own conscience.

Quote Originally Posted by Hickory View Post
    The 44-40 is considered a bottleneck cartridge and would make it illegal in Ohio for deer.
    Yep. You might be out of luck for deer hunting. The SAMMI diagram does show a miniscule 4 degree shoulder.

Boolit Grand Master

I cant get the Steel framed in 45 colt so the 38-55 high wall or one of the 45 -70s ( pedersoli Sharps and a Al Story Sharps Brochart) Don't think Ill need the 45-90 of Ohio deer though.

Quote Originally Posted by country gent View Post