MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyRepackboxLee Precision
Reloading EverythingWidenersInline FabricationTitan Reloading
RotoMetals2 Load Data

Thread: Anyone else have problems with Hi-Tek coating?

Boolit Buddy

Anyone else have problems with Hi-Tek coating?

I can't get this stuff to bond with WW . I got it to bond on pure lead but i can't get it to bond on WW.

Boolit Master
    Good chance your WW is contaminated with something and preventing bonding.
    Check your alloy and process.
    Hooroo.
    Regards, Trevor.
    Australia

Boolit Mold
    I've been using the Hi-Tek for about 3 years now and have about 4 different alloys of lead from a real hard mixture with a lot of Linotype in it to to my most recent batch which is mostly WW with some pure lead (maybe 5%) and a small amount of zinc (I know, I should have caught it but didn't) that cast's and shoots fine though.
    I use the powdered Hi-Tek and have never had a problem with it sticking an any thing (I think it would make a good glue). I do wash all that I cast with Dawn dish washing detergent and rinse well before coating. I've even sized them and then coated and resized and have never had a problem.
    I am meticulous about the amount I mix for a set weight of bullets though. 2g of powder, 10ml acetone for each coat on 8# of bullets.
    Let then dry after 20 seconds of shaking in a plastic coffee can, warm up convection oven that has a PID temp controller on it to 385 degrees and bake for 8 minutes.

Banned
    lsippell It's not recommended to size boolits before applying the first layer of Hi-Tek. Hi-Tek is technically a stain and needs a porous surface to adhere properly.

There are members using a little zinc to help harden an alloy.

Tony make sure your lead is well fluxed in the smelting process. Like Trevor said, it sounds like a contamination problem.

If it's bonding to pure lead then your processes are working fine. If it won't bond to the WW then it must be contaminated with something.