Titan ReloadingInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
RepackboxLee PrecisionWidenersRotoMetals2
Reloading Everything Snyders Jerky

Thread: How to Save a Tree With Its Bark Stripped

How to Save a Tree With Its Bark Stripped

So I have an umbrella willow tree in my back yard that the bark was stripped off of by the puppies while I was at work. At first I just thought that the tree would die back and come up from the roots, however it's been over a month and not only is the tree still green it growing!

So my question to you all is, is there anyway to save this tree through the winter freeze? I thought maybe some news paper and seran wrap to keep the frost off of the exposed wood until it could scar itself back up?

Let me know your thoughts, I've been babying this tree for 5 years trying to get some shade in my back yard and it was finally starting to cast some, it would be a shame to start over.
    The only thing we are afraid of is our own abilities once you get to the point where you don't care about your abilities they become limitless

Boolit Grand Master

we had a paint sealant we used when trimming trees to protect the fresh edges from exposure and bleeding. Stop in at a nursery and talk to them about it.

Use a tree wrap, it has an asphalt like center between 2 paper layers and helps protect young trees from winter weather. Nursery or Big Box junk store (Home Despot sic.) should have it. Just be sure to not wrap it too tight and use duct tape to keep it on, not a stapler like some do. Start about 3 inches above the dirt and wrap with a 1/2 inch overlap or so from bottom up till you cover to the bottom most limb or 3 inches over the area you want to protect. This is so water will runoff and not get under the layers of wrap. You'll probably want to take it off about the last freeze or when the leaves start to bud out. It won't hurt to leave it on during warm weather if you still want protection for the trunk.
    Steve,

Life Member NRA