Reloading EverythingSnyders JerkyTitan ReloadingLoad Data
RepackboxRotoMetals2WidenersInline Fabrication
Lee Precision MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Powder coating removed by Lee sizing die?

Boolit Mold

Powder coating removed by Lee sizing die?

So I'm new to powder coating, been casting for several years, and reloading for a lot longer than that. I've coated several small batches (as in 50 or so) trying things out and seeing what works and what doesn't. I'd say I've had decent success, and the coating is sticking fine. The issue I'm running into is when I size them after coating, it's taking the coating off on the sides where it's sizing it down. I'm casting with wheel weights, not sizing before coating, and sizing with the Lee .356 die after coating, both 9mm and .380. I'm wondering if it's due to the Lee molds dropping fat boolits, and then the added thickness of the powder coat is making them too big for the sizing die and it's scraping off the coating when sizing? I've read posts on here where people mention Lee sizing dies are under size to begin with, so it could potentially be trying to size down 0.005 or 0.006+. Is that just too much for the coating, and if so, what's the solution?

Boolit Buddy
    The inlet angle on mine was too sharp and too rough. I used a dermel with a stone to shape it then used a captec type(abrasive in rubber to polish the inlet. Some use sandpaper on a wooden dowel to acomplish the same thing. You may want to modify your procedure. It takes a little extra time but I size, PC and then resize. I believe I get a smoother more uniform coating thickness doing this than sizing all at one time. If you are still going to do it after PCing only, try using a little anhydrous laniloin mixed with "Heat in red container" (from "Auto zone"). I use it for my brass and it workd great sizing PCed boolits also.

Boolit Mold