Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2Load DataTitan Reloading
WidenersLee PrecisionReloading EverythingRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters Supply Inline Fabrication

Thread: Tight Lubersizer Die?

Boolit Master

Tight Lubersizer Die?

I just got a Lyman 45, but I'm having a small issue with it I can't quite figure out. The die is stubborn and will not seat fully in the press. I'm new to lubersizers, but those dies are supposed to more or less drop in and seat flush with just a little pressure right? The die will go in with finger pressure until about 1/4" to 3/8" of it is sticking out. I can get it to move just a little further by using the press, but everything from the groove on the die (the one below to O ring) and up is still exposed. I know these presses can be a little fragile, so I don't want to put too much pressure on the arm.

I cleaned the heck out of the press and the die, and gave everything that moves a good lubing. It didn't seem to help the issue. The die I'm using is an older Lyman die. It's the one with the 4 lube holes on each side of the die. Any suggestions?

Boolit Master
    The die

How far it will go down with finger pressure. It will only go maybe another 1/8" in if I use the press.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Is the stop adjustment backed out below the die ?
    One who does nothing makes no mistakes.

Boolit Master
    Yes. It doesn't make contact with the die at all.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Boolit Grand Master

Back in the woods a piece, just outside Auburn, AL.
    I'm thinking there's gunk in the bottom of the die channel. It doesn't take much at all in the slanted area at the bottom where it seats and it won't go all the way down. It has to be clean and I mean really clean, in my 45s.
    KE4GWE - - - - - - Colt 1860, it just feels right.

Moderator Emeritus

The Die doesn't "seat" on the top of the die hole.
    The bevel on the bottom of the die "seats" against the bottom of the Die hole.