Snyders JerkyTitan ReloadingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Load DataLee PrecisionReloading EverythingWideners
Repackbox MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New reloading press advice

New reloading press advice

I've been using the Lee Challenger press for 16 years now and I'm going to replace it.
    I'm looking at the RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme and the Lee Classic cast.
    Any opinions on either one?
    The strongest reason for the people to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against the tyranny of government.
    -- Thomas Jefferson

Boolit Grand Master

The RCBS rockchucker and equipment has been a staple for reloaders for many years and their customer service is really good also. It has plenty of leverage for almost all tasks. A good solid press. One thing I always do with a new press is to disassemble it and clean it up good ( there may be preservatives, grit and or other light crud in there), I usually use kerosene or a good water based parts solvent. clean the parts discard the solvent for fresh and wash down a second time in reverse order of first cleaning. Then lube and reassemble. In doing this the press is clean and starts out with the right lube and no grit in the moving parts. Then a 6 month or once a year repeat depending on useage. When mounted on the bench a plastic shopping bag over it keeps dust and dirt out.

It might be helped to know why you are replacing the press you have used for the last 14 years.

What is it you like/don't like about it and what do you want changed about it?

I have and use both for rifle cartridges from 204 Ruger to 45/70 including belted magnums. For me the Lee Classic Cast single stage is easier to use, more ergonomic and seems smoother to operate. Both produce the same quality/accurate ammunition. No real measurable run out difference either.