Reloading EverythingRepackboxTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Load DataRotoMetals2WidenersLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: remington 760 gamemaster 30-06

Boolit Buddy

remington 760 gamemaster 30-06

I am working on a Rem 760 gamemaster pump in 30-06.

I want to take off the front and rear sight and put a scope on it.
    I want to fill in the screw holes so it looks half way decent.
    Where can I find the fill screws for this rifle? What are they called? my search has not turned up anything that I'm looking for.

Anyone know what size I need for them?

any help would be appreciated.

Boolit Grand Master

Boolit Master
    If you have a local gun shop that you frequent, they probably have a gazillion laying around from mounting scopes. I get the them free for the asking. But then I have been spending my allowance in there for close to 30 years!
    “You don’t practice until you get it right. You practice until you can’t get it wrong.” Jason Elam, All-Pro kicker, Denver Broncos

Boolit Buddy
    thanks ben, just what I couldn't find!

Quote Originally Posted by BigMagShooter View Post

Anyone know what size I need for them?

As stated, a gunsmith should have plenty in their scrounge box - but you should be aware that there are (generally) 2 or 3 different size headless plug/filler screws, depending on the rifle's factory specs.

Your Remington, and most rifles, will take the (smallest) 6-48 sized screws; Marlin leverguns and a few others take larger sized screws like 8-32.

If possible, it's best to take the (empty) rifle with you when you visit the gunsmith, so you can be sure of the fit.

Now I lay me down to sleep
    A gun beside me is what I keep
    If I awake, and you're inside
    The coroner's van is your next ride

You should like that rifle. I have one in 30-06 and it shoots and handles well. Not a target rifle, but good consistent hunting accuracy.

Banned
    BigMagShooter,