RepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
WidenersTitan ReloadingInline FabricationLoad Data
Snyders Jerky Lee Precision

Thread: Bar soap for guns

Bar soap for guns

My wife was making a batch of soap yesterday and I pitched the idea of making some that smells like hoppe's 9, I know I would use it and figured that other gun folks might be interested as well. Then it hit me that using the regular soap process and gun oil in place of the normal fats and oils, one could possibly make bar soap for guns. Im not an expert on the saponification process but I think it could work. I will try to talk the Mrs in to trying it. Do you guys think it could be done? I know it most likely wouldn't be a practical thing to do, but I can't often stop my self when an off the wall idea comes in to my head.

Boolit Grand Master

I remember, I think back in the Shooters.com days, one of the guys on the Black Powder Cartridge section when talking about lube commented that we were basically making soap in the barrel with the combination of the lube contents and the heat and pressure taking place!
    Wayne the Shrink

There is no 'right' that requires me to work for you or you to work for me!

Boolit Master

If it don't go in a spray can won't sell well. Must go in a pump spray as a minimum

All depends on the specifics. Each oil has its own characteristics once turned into soap.

Coconut oil is a great cleaner, lathers wonderfully. But if more than 1/3 the recipe can be very drying.

Olive oil makes a very thin hard bar with little lather but is a great conditioner for skin, very nourishing and healthy.

Boolit Grand Master bedbugbilly's Avatar
    Ahhh . . . a splash of Hoppes #9 on the cheeks after shaving . . . makes the women go wild! Well ... maybe not so much . . . .

Boolit Master
    Petrolum based oils do not soponify. But I use hand made soap to clean my muzzle loaders.

Boolit Grand Master