Reloading EverythingRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2Lee PrecisionWidenersTitan Reloading
Inline Fabrication Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to me Marlin 1894SS 44 mag/44 spl

Boolit Man

New to me Marlin 1894SS 44 mag/44 spl

So I recently purchased two Marlin 1894s. One in 357 the other in 44 mag.

This post is about my 1894SS JM made in 2003 it's the 44 mag. I have been reading as much as I can as I am new to lever actions. I do want to cast for them both as I have most of the equipment already. The rifle came with a bunch of loaded rounds in 200, 240 and 300 Hornady XTPs. The 200 and 240 shoot very well in stout loads of H110. I have not shot the 300s yet. The rifle came equipped with Skinner peeps. It also shoots very well the loads I have been using in my H&R Model 155. That load is 22 gr of H110 using a plated Campro 240 gr bullet. To date all of my shooting has been at 50 yards. The loads will put 3 of 5 shots all touching and the others out of that a bit. I would say about 3".

I have a chance to purchase a Lyman 4 cavity 429421 mold. Which I understand is a 250 gr Keith design non gas checked. I have asked the fellow to see what the cast diameter is.

I understand my bore will likely be around 430-432 and a mould casting 433-434 would be most desirable. I have not slugged my bore to date but will do so soon. I have an RCBS Luberisizer and am wondering where I would get a 434 sizer for it? I understand I could modify a Lee to this diameter but am unsure how to do this and I would prefer not to use Lee Liquid Alox. I will be using WW lead.

Failing the above noted mold any recommendation for a Lee TL mold or steer clear?

I also have no idea if the rifling on this rifle is Ballard or Microgroove despite all my research. How can I tell? Sorry to ask such a dumb question.