Reloading EverythingInline FabricationTitan ReloadingSnyders Jerky
Load DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Repackbox Wideners

Thread: Trailboss... Accurate loads, or just for plinking?

Boolit Master

Trailboss... Accurate loads, or just for plinking?

I just bought some Trailboss to use for powderpuff 9.3 X 74 cast loads, out of my Ruger #1. I've never used it before, but after staring at Quickload screens for over a week, looking to create a good, accurate target load, I thought I'd give it a shot. I like it's ability to fill the case, but keep the velocity down.
    My question is:
    Does anyone use this as a preferred powder for target work, or just for plinking?
    I shoot so that I can handload.

Boolit Master
    Fatelvis -

Howdy !

FWIW:
    I first tried 'Trailboss " in my Marlin M-336 XLR .35 Remington.

It seemed to get more accurate the more-full the case was ( 150gr bullets ).

14.5gr Trailboss was the max I could get into the case, and not compress the charge.

It was accurate to 100yd, but.... mostly when there was no wind; as vel's are l-o-w.

With regards,
    357Mag

Boolit Buddy
    In my Krag, 12 grains under the Lee 312-155 had 5 holes touching at 50 yards, 1284 fps average, standard deviation of 7 fps. I set the sight at 400 and pot armadillos with it, or ring steel at our Vintage combat matchs.

Boolit Mold
    As posted in another thread, I use them in my 30-30 for low recoil target loads in my 30-30.
    I'm happy enough to use them for 50m offhand lever-action target shooting competition with iron sights, but I'd use a different load if shooting prone or with a rest (or anything else where the user's wobble factor is less than the 1.5" groups that my load gives.)

Details: