RotoMetals2Snyders JerkyInline FabricationLoad Data
Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersLee Precision
Repackbox Titan Reloading

Thread: Combustible Cartridges. What's Your Method?

Boolit Master

Combustible Cartridges. What's Your Method?

I'm totally new to this and have been searching and watching videos trying to come up with a method or mix thereof that will be quick and efficient.

Seems most are rolling cartridges for 44 revolvers which is apparently historically correct.
    Well I only have 36s so I had to play around to find the proper wrapping dowel.
    Come to find out the Noodlers Ink Nib Creeper fountain pen I use daily was almost the perfect size.

So I grabbed some cheapo 99cent cigarette papers and using the angled wrapping method and nothing but the glue strip that comes with it I wrapped up some tubes.

If I used FFFG I might need a little filler to keep the ball closer to the cylinder throats. However I want to experiment with some Pyrodex RS because I have a surplus of it and no other use right now.
    If that's the case then I should be fine with just powder.
    This is a 1.9 Lee dipper of RS and a .375 round ball for a test.
    I like the angled rolling method because the tail on the narrow end had glue exposed and can be folded over in one neat thin layer leaving hardly anything to burn through for ignition. Seems this was a major concern for some people and not for others. I figure it can't hurt.

What is your method of prep? Anyone twist both ends of a tube and call it a day? It would be fast and some youtubers like it and have no ignition issues.
    Anyone use a different paper?

Boolit Master