MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersInline FabricationTitan Reloading
RotoMetals2RepackboxSnyders JerkyLoad Data
Lee Precision Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to casting, Lee mold questionn

Boolit Bub

New to casting, Lee mold questionn

Hello. I'm new to casting and have a question about Lee mold prep.

I'll be casting pure lead for CB revolver. I see a variety of materials recommended for lube on the block, sprue cutter, and such.

I'm trying to avoid another trip or mail order, what would be the best of things I might have around the house that would be good and yet not damage molds?

Some stuff I've seen mentioned and have:
    - Anti-seize stick (spark plug threads)
    - Normal household lubricants (wd40, 3-in-1 oil)
    - Synthetic engine oil (4 stroke)
    - candles

Thanks,
    Frank

I rarely lube my sprue plates. I would try the synthetic engine oil first. Most of these guys Use 2 strike oil (mixing oil) Use any oil sparingly, just a little bitty dab with a q-tip.

Boolit Master
    Just an opinion and not set in stone
    - Anti-seize stick (spark plug threads) I use the paste from the tube, very sparingly.
    - Normal household lubricants (wd40, 3-in-1 oil) Not only NO, but...
    - Synthetic engine oil (4 stroke) Visit a neighbor and ask for a thimble full of synthetic two stroke.
    - candles Only beeswax candles will do well and very little at a time to avoid contamination. Roll the wax to make a crayon shape with a fine point. Touch the tip of the point to a hot mold and the wax will melt off in a small amount.

Boolit Grand Master

The only parts I lube on aluminum molds is a very light dab (I use a Q-tip) on the top of the mold to prevent lead from sticking when I cut the sprues too soon. A light dab on the area where the screw holds the sprue plate and the alignment pins. I use 2 stroke engine oil very sparingly, as any that migrates into the cavities takes a while to burn off and produces wrinkled bullets...