Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionRepackboxTitan Reloading
MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2WidenersReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication Load Data

Thread: .41 caliber compression bullets and Minie bullets

Boolit Mold

.41 caliber compression bullets and Minie bullets

I just purchased a Swiss 1851 Feldstutzer percussion rifle and now need to feed it. It was designed for both .41 caliber compression bullets and minie balls and has a fairly fast twist. I am new to casting bullets and need any information as to where to get a bullet mould for this rifle and any tips from you guys. Thanks for ANY help.

Perm-Banned
    what is a compression bullet?

Perma-Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by johnson1942 View Post
    what is a compression bullet?

I think this is what he is talking about? I found this picture on the net

Attachment 195413

Quote Originally Posted by Docdon47-70 View Post
    I just purchased a Swiss 1851 Feldstutzer percussion rifle and now need to feed it. It was designed for both .41 caliber compression bullets and minie balls and has a fairly fast twist. I am new to casting bullets and need any information as to where to get a bullet mould for this rifle and any tips from you guys. Thanks for ANY help.
    Gonna need a pretty exacting measurement on the bore of that rifle.
    Do you have the means to do that?
    Just off hand I'm thinking that if you do not, then perhaps we could get you some boolits of various sized diameters to use as gauges. That would probably depend though upon where you are geographically.

Hey and by the way, a pet project idea that I really want to get going is a rifle to shoot .41 Mag molds paper patched.
    Could you please tell what the rate of twist is in that rifle? There's no substitute for finding out what people before you did because they usually did what works, learned through trial and error.

Boolit Mold