WidenersLoad DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
RepackboxInline FabricationTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
RotoMetals2 Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's Your Mold Maintenance Between Casting Sessions

What's Your Mold Maintenance Between Casting Sessions

I am a newbie to casting. I have a mold (with handles attached) ​with a little rust on the steel parts. What do you do to prevent rust from destroying the finish on your mold(s) and to keep your molds in tip top shape when they are stored between casting sessions?

Boolit Grand Master

Back in the woods a piece, just outside Auburn, AL.
    Spray em with RemOil and put in ziplock sandwich bag. Put back on shelf.

On molds with handles attached, I spray with RemOil, put sandwich bag over mold and secure with rubber band. (the wide, thick ones that I get with bundles of broccoli), and put back on shelf.

You will probably get as many different answers to this question as if you had asked "What's the best gun for cast boolits?"
    KE4GWE - - - - - - Colt 1860, it just feels right.

Boolit Grand Master

My steel molds get oiled with whatever's handy. Remoil, Kroil, etc. Aluminum and Brass molds nothing special. I keep mine on a shelf in a climate controlled room with rubber bands keeping the halves together. The NOE molds go back into their boxes with labels facing me.

Alwsys keep mold halves banded. If they're mishandled, dropped or whatever, the cavities will not take a hit.

Moderator Emeritus

Quote Originally Posted by Beagle333 View Post
    SNIP...

You will probably get as many different answers to this question as if you had asked "What's the best gun for cast boolits?"
    Absolutely !
    and that is partly due to the different climates we live in.

My Minnesota summers are nearly as humid as south-east TX. But the Minnesota winters are nearly as dry as AZ...go figure?