Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionLoad DataMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading EverythingRotoMetals2Inline FabricationWideners
Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .300 Blackout Lee mold

Boolit Mold

.300 Blackout Lee mold

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to casting and just started with a Lee .30 cal, aluminum, 230gr two-cavity mold.

Pot is an RCBS 10lb bottom pour

The picture above shows generally what's been happening with all my cast bullets, some better than others. They keep having these areas that don't seem to be getting fully filled out or large creases.

I've tried temps from 700 to 900 degrees (as measured with an in pot thermometer). I've varied my casting rate and gotten the bullets to frost, but still does not totally fill out to a solid bullet with no creases.

Cleaned the mold, tried smoking and no smoking, totally changed the alloy, still having it happen.

I'm either a dummy, missing something, or need a new (new) mold. . .

Ideas?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tmp_5976-2017-04-13 00.04.28-680864283.jpg 
Views:	139 
Size:	32.7 KB 
ID:	193128

Boolit Master
    Are you sure the mold is clean and free of any oil? Did you pre heat the mold by bringing it to casting temp several times and letting it cool down before the next cycle? Did you pour the full stream of alloy directly into the center of the hole in the sprue plate, or did you just dribble it in thinking that would help the air escape the mold. Aluminum molds like to be kept hot by casting at a rapid pace so if you stop to look, it will cool down and leave creases on the bullets. Give it a try and get back if further suggestions are needed.

Boolit Bub
    Needs more heat in the mold. Cast at a faster pace and sort later. If you start to get frosty boolits slow down a step but don't let your mold get cold. I usually cast between 750 and 800 depending on the alloy.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk