WidenersLoad DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Repackbox RotoMetals2

Thread: Full snort .357 load for a 3" barrel

Boolit Master

Full snort .357 load for a 3" barrel

I am new to loading .357. I'm looking for a full power load for a 158gr GC boolit through a 3" barrel, that doesn't feel like a toy gun. Would 110/296 do the trick, or since it's a 3" barrel perhaps a faster powder would be better. Any guidelines?

I know that I'd probably have better accuracy with a bit less power, and I don't intend to shoot full power all of the time, but want to find a good load for those days that I want to wake the revolver up.

Randy
    Plata o plomo?
    Plomo, por favor!

Boolit Master

Read an article years ago that said most all the smokeless powder is burned by the time the projectile starts moving. I don't know how true that is but I like w296/h110 in 357 and wouldn't hesitate to use it in a 3" revolver.

Boolit Buddy
    Skeeter Skelton's favorite load. .38Spl case, 12.5 gr #2400 powder, Lyman 358156 seated to crimp in lower crimp groove. Should get you about 1150 fps from 3" bbl.

Boolit Master
    GHH -

Howdy !

For a great WW296 ( H110 ) load, and my favorite: 14.5gr WW296 and SP Mag primer under a ( Lyman ) SWC of 158 -172gr.
    These don't have to be GC. This is a bona fide " Magnum " load.

Skeeter once listed a favored .357Mag load ( in Magnum brass ) of: 8 gr IMR4756 and SP primer under a lead 158gr SWC.
    It's a tad sooty, but it's a no kiddin' Mag load, also.

With regards,
    357Mag
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Mag 005_320x240.JPG  

Boolit Master
    I shoot full power loads in my Ruger SP 101 with a 3" bbl. I use WW296 and 158 and 180 grain bullets. It's manageable and shoots pretty good. Here's a group I fired DA at 25 yards with it the day I got it. I'd recommend the 296.
    Attachment 193001