Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
RepackboxTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionWideners
Load Data RotoMetals2

Thread: Boolit design

Boolit Mold

Boolit design

Hello everyone, some background before I ask my question. I am new to the cast boolit hobby. So new that I have not even cast any boolits yet. I still have trouble spelling boolits. I have used with great success, the old lyman .45 cal round ball mold that I got for my dad to make ammo for his sling shot long ago. I am a retired industrial technology teacher with all of my fingers. I have lots of experience teaching safe work habits. Used to teach kids about machining and foundry practices. They ran lathes, cast brass and aluminum, etc. I also have a quite a bit of reloading experience from 30 years ago, before life got in the way and the farmland around our home started growing houses instead of corn, beans and wheat. I used to shoot a lot and reload for my 22-250 and .221 fireball. Still have all the tooling from that.

I know how to safely work up a load. But I have always had a loading manual as a starting point. Just saying that I have the safety mindset and mechanical skills required do what I am going to ask, just no experience in this specific area.

I mentioned in the old military rifle section of this forum, I have my grandpas S-147, 1936, 8mm Mauser. The bore slugged at .326. It is in great shape. I have fired a few rounds of surplus military ammo. Accuracy was not spectacular. From standing I was able to hit 3-4" logs and scatter a few rounds into an regular sized paper plate at 50 yards. I know that is not great testing data, but it was fun anyway!! I am guessing that since the .324 bullets were rattling around in the .326 bore, that may have been a contributing factor accuracy. I now have reloading dies for it.