WidenersRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
RepackboxReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyLoad Data
Titan Reloading Inline Fabrication

Thread: Really Really dumb thought...

Boolit Master

Really Really dumb thought...

I sprayed my drywall screws with Dillon case lube just to see if they drove easier... I 'thought' they did.... Anyone else try this?

Maybe wax is better?

PS...I didn't know where to put this so.......

Yes, lube helps a lot --- I use bee's wax -- I have also used plain bar soap -- I expect any lube would help - oil may be a bit messy though --
    my ha-penny
    I should add I use both dry wall and construction screw for all sorts of wood projects --

Boolit Mold
    Don't get any on the screw head if you plan to paint or otherwise finish the final project. I have just always used wax on the threads. I have used soap in the past also.

Boolit Master
    Over the years in construction & and particularly as a finish trim carpenter, I used toilet rings wax on my screws that I was putting into hardwoods. I just stuck the screw tips into the ring when I thought they would be needed to be lubed. (Not all situations required the lube.) Never lubed any other screws, to be put into softwoods, including many gypsum board screws(sheetrock screws), with only the exception of end grains/end of board situations..

{Personally if I am just putting up gypsum board/sheetrock ("sheetrock" is a brand) I am not gonna waste the time. "Time is money", when it comes to installing the stuff & one more step + the additional cost of lube doesn't warrant the lubing of the screws. Maybe for a little project to humor yourself it is OK & suit yourself. But if you are doing la large project like "Sheetrocking" a home or a basement, I think you are "peeing in the wind" doing it. LOL}