Reloading EverythingSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
Lee PrecisionRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingWideners
Repackbox Load Data

Thread: 30 Badger questions

Boolit Bub

30 Badger questions

Nobade, badgered, and others, how are the 30 Badgers faring? I am trying to decide between this and a Mag case ran though a 300Blk die. The Badger looks better for cast, which is what I think I want for now. I may go the other way if I want to shoot Jwords though. A few questions follow:
    Do you anneal before or after forming? Or even at all?
    How has case life been?
    How often have you had to resize the base?
    Have you tried HP-38/W231?
    What is your go to load?
    Do you think the 130 soup can is ideal, or would a 165FP (as popular in the 30-30) would be better for subsonic loads?
    Are you giving it a firm crimp, light to moderate, or just stuffing it by hand?

I am new to reloading (only about 300 reloads through my press). I have a .357 Handi and a .223 Savage I currently load for. I just started loading for the Savage and am trying to get a fun reduced load. I think the Badger, or load development for the .357 for a plinker would be easier than messing with the .223. I am just hesitant to do forming. The other option is stick with the similar 32-20 and deal with the higher brass cost.

Banned

You would probably get more info from the Michigan Liars Club. I hope to see them post in this thread.

OK, I'll chime in.
    Haven't had to anneal the cases at all. Sometimes a very old one will split when it gets necked down, but rarely.

If they don't break at first I haven't had any case failures other than from overloads. I have decided 35K PSI is the limit to load these to, 38 spl brass can't take much more.

I full length size after every firing with the Lee 7.62x25 die.

Don't have any WW231, but there's no reason it wouldn't work just fine.